Collaborative Doctoral Studentships available at Science Museum Group

The AHRC has awarded the Science Museum Group eight collaborative doctoral studentships to start this autumn. In late spring, with our university partners, we will be looking for excellent students with relevant Masters degrees to apply for these places.

At present, university partners, working with professional staff at the museums in our group, are submitting proposals for projects to be conducted on a wide range of fascinating topics related to the museums' concerns. Please note that it is an intrinsic aspect of these collaborative projects that students, as in a conventional doctorate, determine the route across the terrain described in outline in the proposals. In addition to this, they gain all the benefits and academic stimulation of working in world-leading museums, including opportunities to work on unexplored collections, and communicating their work to wide audiences.

The Science Museum Group is Britain's premier museum organisation in the fields of science, technology, engineering, medicine and media. It is comprised of the Science Museum (London), Museum of Science and Industry (Manchester), National Media Museum (Bradford), National Railway Museum (York) and NRM branch Locomotion (Shildon). SMG holds collections, carefully acquired since the 19th century, of international significance. Its permanent galleries and temporary exhibitions represent the history, present and future of its subjects. The museums’ professional staff lecture and publish their academic work widely in museology and history. In recent years, the museums have hosted AHRC projects under the Science in Culture, Connected Communities, and Beyond Text themes.

If you would like to register your interest in these places, please e-mail so that we can contact you as soon as the places can be advertised.


Dr Tim Boon,
Head of Research & Public History,
The Science Museum,
Exhibition Road,