Computer History Museum Prize 2014

Computer History Museum Prize 2014

2014 Call for Submissions

The Computer History Museum Prize is awarded to the author of an outstanding book in the history of computing broadly conceived, published during the prior three years. The prize of $1,000 is awarded by SIGCIS, the Special Interest Group for Computers, Information and Society. SIGCIS is part of the Society for the History of Technology.

Books published in 2011-2013 are eligible for the 2014 award. Books in translation are eligible for three years following the date of their publication in English. Publishers, authors, and other interested members of the computer history community are invited to nominate books. Send one copy of the nominated title to each of the committee members listed below. To be considered, book submissions must be postmarked by 15 May 2014 For more information, please contact the prize committee chair. Current information about the prize, including the most recent call and a list of previous winners, may always be found at

In 2012 the prize was endowed in perpetuity through a generous bequest from the estate of Paul Baran, a legendary computer innovator and entrepreneur best known for his work to develop and promote the packet switching approach on which modern networks are built. Baran was a long-time supporter of work on the history of information technology and named the prize to celebrate the contributions of the Computer History Museum to that field.

2014 Prize Committee Members

Rebecca Slayton: Lecturer in Public Policy, Stanford University, 616 Serra Street, Stanford, CA 94305-6055.

David Nofre (chair): Research Affiliate, Centre d'Estudis d'Història de la Ciència at the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona. Send books to him at Kleyn Proffijtlaan 47, 2343DB Oegstgeest, Netherlands

Joseph A. November: Associate Professor, University of South Carolina, Department of History, 817 Henderson St., Gambrell Hall, Room 245, Columbia, SC 29208.

Please address any questions to David Nofre.

Previous Winners

•2009: Christophe Lécuyer, Making Silicon Valley: Innovation and the Growth of High Tech, 1930-1970 (MIT Press, 2006).

•2010: Atsushi Akera, Calculating a Natural World: Scientists, Engineers, and Computers During the Rise of U.S. Cold War Research (MIT Press, 2007).

•2011: Paul N. Edwards, A Vast Machine: Computer Models, Climate Data, and the Politics of Global Warming (MIT Press, 2010).

•2012: Eden Medina, Cybernetic Revolutionaries:Technology and Politics in Allende's Chile (MIT Press, 2011).

•2013: Joseph A. November. Biomedical Computing: Digitizing Life in the United States (Johns Hopkins University Press, 2012).