Fifth French PhilMath Workshop

Fifth French PhilMath Workshop (FPMW 5)
(formerly Paris-Nancy PhilMath Workshop)

Thursday, October 17-Saturday, October 19, 2013
Clermont-Ferrand, Université Blaise Pascal

This is the fifth in an annual series of workshops on the philosophy of mathematics organized by a team of scholars in France and elsewhere (program of the previous meeting can be seen here:
The three-day meeting will feature both invited and contributed talks. The invited speakers, who have confirmed their participation, are:

*** Thierry Coquand (University of Gothenburg)
*** Colin McLarty (Case Western Reserve University)
*** Chris Pincock (Ohio State University)
*** Jean-Jacques Sczceciniarz (Université Paris Diderot)

Call for papers
Deadline for submission: May 15, 2013
Notification of acceptance: July 1, 2013

The program will include six contributed talks. Submissions of papers (15000 character max.) in any topic in the philosophy of mathematics are welcome. The languages of the workshop are English and French. Presentations should be no longer than 45 minutes, and will be followed by 30 minutes of discussion. Younger scholars and graduate students working on their dissertations are particularly encouraged to submit, as the workshop provides them with an opportunity to discuss their work with experts from around the world. The deadline for submission is May 15, 2013. Receipt of submissions will be acknowledged by email. The Scientific Committee will evaluate all papers and announce its decisions by July 1, 2013.

The papers should be sent by email in doc, rtf, or pdf format to the following address: david (dot) rabouin (at) wanadoo (dot) fr

This workshop is organized by PHIER (Clermont). It is supported by IHPST (Paris), SPHERE (Paris), Ireph (Paris), Archives Henri Poincaré (Nancy), CEPERC (Aix), IMT (Toulouse), STL (Lille).

Scientific Committee: Andrew Arana, Mark van Atten, Denis Bonnay, Paola Cantù, Gabriella Crocco, Michael Detlefsen, Jacques Dubucs, Henri Galinon, Sebastien Gandon, Brice Halimi, Gerhard Heinzmann, Paolo Mancosu, Sébastien Maronne, Philippe Nabonnand, Marco Panza, Fabrice Pataut, Dominique Pradelle, David Rabouin, Shahid Rahman, Andrei Rodin, Stewart Shapiro, Ivahn Smadja, Jean-Jacques Szczeciniarz, Claudine Tiercelin, Sean Walsh.

Local Organizing Committee: Sébastien Gandon, Henri Galinon, Dominique